obsession

Standard

So one of my classes this semester teaches us to diagnosis mental illness, or at least identify symptoms of various mental illnesses. A personal favorite is OCD, obsessive compulsive disorder. With OCD you’re obsessed about something, say pottery, and you think about it a lot. Your thoughts about the obsession cause anxiety or anxiousness that can only be lessened by performing and action, which is the compulsion. Once you perform the action, let’s say making pottery, the obsessive thoughts subside for a while only to return and recreated the need to do  your compulsion again. This makes it a vicious cycle of thinking and doing that can negatively affect a person’s day to day life.

Here’s the problem: sometimes I can’t sleep because I’ve got some great pottery idea in my head and I can’t go to the studio. Once I do get to go to the studio I usually leave pretty content. Until I start thinking about something else I NEED to make and the cycle continues. Sounds like OCD to me. Shoot.

Products of OCD:  IMG_3756

IMG_3752I spent 5 hours carving this this weekend in order to hold me over until today.

Leave a Reply

