Balsamic roasted tomatoes and garlic

Standard

OMG guys.

{balsamic roasted tomatoes and garlic)

Have you seen this recipe? Tomatoes. yum. garlic. yum. This was amazing. I’m sitting here debating finishing this post or finishing up the left overs. But this is for posterity. {True confession: I promptly went and ate the rest after writing this}

So tonight I set out to try this with a few modifications. The original recipe calls for a drizzle of olive oil at the end, but I wanted to make sure that the tomatoes didn’t burn. So I cut the tomatoes and tossed them with some olive oil.

{EVOO}

Stuffed in some garlic.

{stuffed tomatoes}

Then I realized, what goes with tomatoes and garlic. Cheese. But that doesn’t work so well. Balsamic vinegar. I love me some balsamic vinegar. So once they were all set up in the skillet, I drizzled some over the tomatoes and garlic.

{vinegar bath}

A little oregano (other spices would be good too).

{all dressed up}

Pop that in the oven.

{keeping that glass clean is so hard}

Now I also didn’t want to crush everything per the original recipe. I wanted little tomatoes stuffed with garlic that I could pick up individually. So I didn’t know how long this was going to take.

15 mins.

{just the beginning}

30 mins.

45 mins.

1 hour

1 hour 15 mins. and I say done. Most of the liquid had cooked off and things were starting to get a little brown (which isn’t a bad thing)

Toasted some bread on the panini press.

{love bread}

Loaded it up.

{come to momma}

Devoured it.

Seriously this is absolutely worth making.  I can’t describe how delicious this was. The flavors were so concentrated I didn’t even need cheese. bam. Do yourself a favor and make these.

Recipe (adapted slightly from here)

Ingredients:

  • 1 pt. tomatoes (cherry or another small variety)
  • 1 head of garlic
  • oregano
  • sea salt
  • 2-3 splashes good quality olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut a X into the top of each tomato.
  3. Toss tomatoes with olive oil.
  4. cut the garlic cloves to fit into the tomatoes (I cut most in half).
  5. stuff the garlic into the tomatoes.
  6. Fill a cast iron skillet with the garlic-stuffed tomatoes, slit side up.
  7. Drizzle balsamic vinegar over the tomatoes.
  8. Sprinkle on oregano (or other spices).
  9. Roast tomatoes until most of the liquid is evaporated.
  10. Smash on bread, crackers and probably a lot of other things.
2 responses »

    • You are so welcome! I made these on Friday for a friend and my hands still smell like garlic. totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

