Spicy strawberry jam (no funny business)

Standard

Well when you have 12 lbs of strawberries it becomes very clear that eating them all fresh probably isn’t a possibility. I put out a bowl for my small group and took some over to a barbecue with friends, but I still had a whole other box. I felt compelled to make something before they all went bad and then I remembered a jam or a jelly or a preserve (I can’t explain the difference without googling it) that my dad had raved about that had strawberries and hot peppers.

Apparently this sweet and spicy combo is no secret, but I was looking for a recipe that wouldn’t require me to buy pectin. A little mixing and matching later, I was surprised by the perfect pairing of jalapenos, serranos and strawberries.

Image

{start with fresh strawberries}

Image

{fresh lemon juice, serrano/jalapeno mix, fresh strawberries}

Image

{simmer}

Image

{simmer}

Image

{simmer}

Image

{peppers+stir}

Image

{puree}

Image

{can can can}

Recipe:

based on this recipe

{Start with}

  • 2 lbs. Strawberries
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 2 small serrano peppers

I decided not to stick to serrano peppers like the recipe calls for. I had seen a few recipes with jalapenos so I decided to mix the two and it definitely works. I’m also thinking about trying this with lime instead of lemon juice next time. I basically followed the directions in the original recipe, but I decided that the fruit to jelly ratio might be better if I pureed about 1 cup of the mixture after all the ingredients were combined. I tossed it into the magic bullet and then reincorporated it back into the pot. This step is totally optional. I did also add some cornstarch with the hopes of a more jelled jam, but I didn’t think that it made much of a difference.

ALSO. I’ve been waiting for an excuse to use this fantastic site that lets you create jam labels for free. I printed off a few and adhered them to the jars with milk. (Yes milk! Google it.) With a better printer and paper these could definitely be what takes homemade gifts to the next level (and there’s a beerlabelizer too!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

